Latest News


    Profiles of five approved ministers

    KABUL (PAN) Profiles of the five nominated ministers who obtained the vote of confidence from lawmakers on Monday. The MPs rejected two of the seven nominees sent by President Hamid Karzai to the Lower House.

    General Bismillah Muhammadi:

    Nominated for the Ministry of Interior, was born in 1961 in central Panjshir province, north of Kabul.

    He was graduated from 14th grade in Abu Hanifa Seminary and enrolled in Kabul Military University in 1995.

    He served as the commander of 40th brigade of the Afghan National Army. He was also the General Commander of the National Guards in 2000. In 2002, he became Deputy Defence Minister and was appointed as the Chief of Army Staff in 2003.

    He has so far been awarded with the medals of Syed Jamaluddin Afghan, Ghazi Amanullah Khan and Ahmad Shah Baba for his efforts in bolstering the ANA.

    Dr. Anwar ul Haq Ahadi

    Nominated for the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, was born in 1951 in Kabul. Ahadi holds a Masters degree in Economics and Political Science from the American University of Beirut and his Doctorate from Northwestern University in Finance and Administration in the United States.

    He was assistant professor of political science at Carleton College in Northfield in the United States, and as the banking director of Continental Elona of Chicago from 1985-1987. From 1987 to 2002, he was a professor of political science at Providence College, a Roman Catholic university in Providence, R.I.

    Ahadi was the Director General of Da Afghanistan Bank (2002-2004) and was the Finance Minister of Afghanistan until February 5, 2009. He stood down from his position and announced to run the August 2009 presidential election, which he stepped back later on.

    Asadullah Khalid

    Nominated for the Ministry of Borders and Tribal Affairs, was born in 1969 in Nawa district of southern Ghazni province. He completed his primary education at Mahmood Tarzai High School in Kabul and completed intermediate school at Etihad High School in Pakistan in 1986.

    He got admission at the National University of Tajikistan in 1996 and received a Bachelor degree in Political Science at Kabul University in 2001. He was the governor of southern Ghazni province from 2001-2005 before moving as the provincial governor to southern Kandahar province.

    He was appointed as the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs in 2008 and later that year he was nominated as Minister of Borders and Tribal Affairs which he failed to obtain the approval of the Lower House.

    Abdul Qudus Hamidi

    Nominated for the Ministry for Public Works, was born in 1956 in the northern province of Jawzjan. He completed his primary and intermediate education at the Ibn-i-Ayman High School in his birthplace.

    Hamidi has received a Bachelor in Chemistry and Technology from the Kabul Polytechnic Institute in 1979. He received his Masters at the same institute in 1983.

    He has been a professor at the Kabul University, deputy of Water and Energy Department in the northern Balkh province, head of fuel and gas department in Balkh and advisor at the Ministry of Mines.

    He was also picked up as the Minister of Information and Technology in January 2010 but he failed to get Parliament's approval.

    Jamahir Anwari

    Nominated for the Ministry of Refugees and Returnees, was born in Andkhoe district of northern Faryab province in 1955. After his graduation from Pharmacy Faculty of Kabul University in 1976, he has since then worked as a pharmacist at the Department of Mother and Child Health.

    He was an employee of the blood bank in 1977, head of pharmacy affairs department for the northern zone in 1983. Since 2006, he was head of Medicine Affairs at the General Directorate of Pharmacy in the Ministry of Public Health.

    He was also the financial head of the union of Afghan Pharmacists, leader of Turkmen Peace Council and member of the leading delegation of carpet traders. Anwari, who speaks Dari and English languages, was also member of the emergency Loya Jirga held in 2004.