Pajhwok Services

Photo Service

SMS News Service

Pajhwok combines its expertise and experience in news reporting with a telecom firm and thus reach a wider audience in an 
effective way.

To subscribe: 
English News Update : Send 83 to 824
Dari News Update : Send 84 to 824
Pashto News Update : Send 85 to 824

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Aamu Kunduz's T20 Champs

Aamu Kunduz's T20 Champs

Jul 10, 2011 - 00:40

KUNDUZ CITY ( PANinfo-icon) In an entertaining, thriller of a match, at a cricket stadium in northern Kunduz province, Aamu won the T20 Inter-zonal cricket tournament by 4 wickets against Spinghar, on Saturday.  

Batting first, Springhar made 108 runs in 18.2 overs with a loss of ten wickets. Batin Shah and Zeuak were the highest scorers, contributing 37 and 32 runs respectively. Sharafuddin toppled Springhar’s batting order by taking 4 wickets.

The host team, Aamu, however, was successful in reaching the target of 109 runs, with a nail biting, last ball win, at the loss of 6 wickets. The top scorers were Shaukat and Sher Rehman with 50 and 24 runs respectively.

Abdullah who scored 15 runs and took 2 wickets was declared the man of the match.

The Afghanistaninfo-icon cricket board awarded 50,000 Afghanis to the winner of the tournament and 25,000 Afghanis for the runners-up. In a prize distribution ceremony they also gave away medals and cups for the participating teams.

“This T20 format will hopefully popularize the neglected cricketing talent of Northern Afghanistan, and will give them a chance to play for the national team”, said, Aamu Zone Director, Dr Farid.

“Full credit goes to my entire team. Our batting and bowling was impeccable, we stuck to our plan, and that’s what got us victory”, said, Khaliq dat Noori, Captain, Aamu.

The T20 Inter-Zonal cricket tournament, organized by the Afghanistan Cricket Board, was among five zones of Kunduz province, namely, Springhar, Aamu, Misainak, Bost and Band-e-Amir. 

Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment


Twitter Update