Latest News


    Provinces to have higher education institutes

    KABUL (PAN): Four provinces would have institutes of higher education over the next four years and 20 faculties would be established in different universities in 2012, officials said on Monday.

    The institutes would start operating in Farah, Ghor, Panjsher and Uruzgan, Bari Siddiqui, deputy higher education minister, told a news conference in Kabul.

    Sar-i-Pul, Nimroz, Zabul, Maidan Wardak, Daikundi, Nuristan and Paktika provinces did not have state-run institutes of higher education, he said.

    The ministry had been trying to establish such institutes in all provinces, he said, adding currently there were 24 institutes of higher education in Afghanistan.

    Siddiqui announced the entry test for night schools would take place on August 25. As many as 7,000 male and 900 female students have so far been registered for the test.

    If the security situation gets better this year, the entry test for dayshift schools will be held in all the 34 provinces of the country.