Pajhwok Services

Photo Service

SMS News Service

Pajhwok combines its expertise and experience in news reporting with a telecom firm and thus reach a wider audience in an 
effective way.

To subscribe: 
English News Update : Send 83 to 824
Dari News Update : Send 84 to 824
Pashto News Update : Send 85 to 824

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Afghanistan bat against Pakistan in historic ODI

Afghanistan bat against Pakistan in historic ODI

Feb 10, 2012 - 18:50

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Afghanistaninfo-icon won the toss and chose to bat in their historic first-ever day-night international against Pakistaninfo-icon at Sharjah Stadium on Friday.

The match that started at 3:30pm (Afghan time) at the Sharjah’s international cricket stadium came 11 years after Afghanistan joined the International Cricket Council.

Afghanistan, who have played 18 one-day internationals against fellow Associate teams, are playing their first match against a top Test playing nation.

Pakistan, who thrashed England in the three-Test series 3-0 earlier this week, have been boosted by the return of all-rounder Shahid Afridi.

Afghan captain Nawroz Mangal told Pajhwok Afghan News over the telephone from Sharjah a day earlier that the players, except Hamid Hassan, were fully prepared for the event.

Hassan, the budding Afghan fast bowler, was seriously injured last month during a friendly match with England. He is currently under treatment.

Mangal said it was a great event and achievement for Afghans to play a top level game against Pakistan, and a good chance for them to display their skills on the international level.

The team manager, Shafiqullah Stanikzai, also said the squad had a tough practice ahead of the match.

Afghanistan: Nawroz Mangal (captain), Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Karim Sadiq, Samiullah Shinwari, Mirwais Ashraf, Gulbadain Naib, Dawlat Zadran, Shahpoor Zadran, Amir Hamza.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain) Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update