Latest News


    ACB names squad for Under-19 Asia Cup

    KABUL (PAN): The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Monday announced a 15-member squad for the Under-19 Asia Cup, starting from June 21 in the capital of Malaysia.

    ACB High Performance Program Manager Bashir Stanikzai told Pajhwok Afghan News that Javed Ahmad would captain the side for the event, where Afghanistan would take on Sri Lanka in their opening match on June 23.

    Afghanistan is placed in group B along with Bangladesh, Qatar and Sari Lanka, while hosts Malaysia, Nepal, India and Pakistan are in group A. The semifinals will be played on June 28 and 29 and the final on July 1.

    Stanikzai said the line-up included Javed Ahmadi (captain), Aftab Alam, Afsar Khan, Farid Ahmad Malik, Mohammad Yameen, Hashmatullah, Mohibullah, Nasir Jamal, Syed Ahmad Sherzad, Najibullah, Ziaullah, Sharfuddin, Shabir Ahmad, Noorul Haq and Fitratullah.

    Team officials are Sher Agha Hamkar (manager), Abdul Wali Hamidullah (head coach), Geoff Lawson (consultant), Rais Khan Ahmadzai (assistant coach) and Noorullah Khali (physician).

    ACB Chief Executive Officer Dr. Hamid Shinwari said the side was announced after months of consultations and practice. He added the players had gone through tough trials and received training from local and foreign mentors.