Pajhwok Services

Photo Service

SMS News Service

Pajhwok combines its expertise and experience in news reporting with a telecom firm and thus reach a wider audience in an 
effective way.

To subscribe: 
English News Update : Send 83 to 824
Dari News Update : Send 84 to 824
Pashto News Update : Send 85 to 824

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

ACB names players for training camp ahead of BD tour

ACB names players for training camp ahead of BD tour

Aug 30, 2016 - 16:20

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok):The Afghanistaninfo-icon Cricket Board (ACB) has named 26players for a 15-day training camp in India,beginning from September 3 at the Greater Cricket Sportsinfo-icon Complex Ground.

The training camp has been arranged ahead of Afghanistan’s tour of Bangladesh (BD), where the men in blue will play three One-Day International (ODI) matches against the hostsat the Sher-i-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur.

Bangladesh and Afghanistan will play their first-ever ODI series on Sept. 25, 26 and October1, said Nasimullah Danish, chairman of the Afghanistan Cricket Board.

“I've made it clear to the selection committee that it is a difficult task picking the squad for playing against Bangladeshon their home ground,” he added.

Danish, however, believed the players were committed to undergoing rigorous training, playing the best possible game and providing spectators high-quality entertainment.

Injuries were a part of the game, he acknowledged, urging every player to stay fighting-fit and ready.

Shafiq Stanikzai, ACB CEO, said: “The objective of the training camp is to ensure the overall physical fitness of all players, enhance their skills and prepare them for the upcoming series against Bangladesh.”

Players for the training camp are Asghar Stanikzai, Mohammad Nabi, Mirwais Ashraf, Samiullah Shinwari, Dawlat Zadran, Nowroz Mangal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najib Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Shahzad, Rashid Khan, Yamin Ahmadzai, Hamza Hotak, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Naveen Ul Haq, Nasir Jamal, Najiat Masood, Mujeeb Zadran, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Farid Malik, Aftab Alam, AfsarZazi, IhsanullahJanat, ShabirNoori

Chief Selector Dawlat Ahmadzai said:  “The team’s bowling performance has been exceptional. We have given a chance to youngsters. A strict policy has been introduced on team’s discipline.”The final 15-man squad for the series will be announced publically soon.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update