Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Herat districts transition to Afghan security lead

Herat districts transition to Afghan security lead

Jan 16, 2012 - 20:22

HERAT CITY (PANinfo-icon): Security for 12 districts was handed to Afghan forces from international soldiers in the western province of Herat on Monday, officials said.

Chairman of Transition Commission Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai, representatives of the ministries of defence, interior, the National Directorate of Security, Independent Directorate of Local Governance participated in a security handover ceremony.

Guzra, Injil, Pashtuninfo-icon Zarghoon, Korkh, Kushk-i-Kuhna, Rabat Sangi, Gulran, Kahsan, Farsi, Ghoryan, Zandajan and Adraskan districts were transferred to the Afghan security lead.

Deputy Governor Asil Din Jami said the switch took place in a peaceful environmentinfo-icon. However, he called for efforts at overcoming weak governance in the districts that had inadequate resources.

There had been no serious security threat in the province, he said, adding that he had shared the governance problem with the visiting officials.

Provincial police spokesman, Col. Noor Khan Nekzad, said they would try their best to prevent any attempts destabilising Herat. Security of Herat City was handed to Afghan forces in the first phase of transition on July 21, 2011.

According to the officials of High Peace Councilinfo-icon, 334 militants have joined the reconciliation programme over the last six months.

During the current phase, Faizabad, Shahr-i-Buzurg, Yaftal Sofla, Arghanchkhwa, Baharak, Tishkan, Kishm and Argu districts of the remote northern province of Badakhshan were also handed to the Afghan forces.

The areas selected for the second phase included Daikundi, Nimroz, Parwan, Samangan, Sar-i-Pul, Takhar and Balkh provinces, as well as some districts and the capitals of Badakhshan, Badghis, Ghazni, Helmand, Herat, Kabulinfo-icon, Laghman, Ghorinfo-icon, Maidan Wardak and Nangarhar provinces.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update