Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

9 Cabinet ministers sworn in

9 Cabinet ministers sworn in

Mar 07, 2012 - 15:39

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Nine new ministers in the Cabinet of President Hamid Karzai were sworn in at a ceremony at the Presidential Palace in Kabul on Wednesday.

Taking oath after winning a trust vote from Parliament, the ministers promised to follow Islamic teachings, the Constitution and other regulations, the president's office said.

Ismail Khan took oath as minister of water and energy, Amirzai Sangin as minister of telecommunications, Dr. Suraya Dalil as public healthinfo-icon minister and Husan Bano Ghazanfar as womeninfo-icon's affairs minister.

Obaidullah Obaid was sworn in as higher educationinfo-icon minister, Wais Ahmad Barmak as rural rehabilitation and development minister, Daud Ali Najafi as transport and aviation minister, Hassan Abdul Lilahi as urban development minister and Najibullah Aujan as public works minister.

Vice-presidents and other high-ranking officials participated in the oath-taking ceremony, where the ministers vowed to protect national sovereignty and promote unity among Afghans.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update