Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Karzai appoints 4 new governors

Karzai appoints 4 new governors

Apr 03, 2012 - 12:21

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Based on recommendations of the Independent Directorate of Local Governance (IDLG), four new governors were appointed for Uruzgan, Farah, Sar-i-Pul and Logar provinces, an official said on Tuesday.

Mohammad Akram Khpalwak was appointed as governor of western Farah province and Abdul Jabbar Haqbin as governor of Sar-i-Pul, Syed Intezar Khadem, IDLG spokesman told Pajhwok Afghan News.

Previously, Rohull-Amin served as Farah governor and Syed Anwar Rahmati was the governor of Sar-i-Pul province. Amir Mohammad Akhundzada has been appointed in Uruzgan, replacing Mohammad Omar Sherzad.

Similarly, Mohammad Tahir Sabri was named as central Logar governor, succeeding Ateequllah Lodin. The gubernatorials appointments were approved by President Hamid Karzai, but it is not yet clear when they will take up their posts.

Earlier, Khpalwak worked as Paktia governor and Haqbin as director-general of revenue at the Kabul Municipality. Akhundzada previously served as deputy minister of tribal and border affairs. Sabri has been an acting governor of southeastern Khost province.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update