Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Yasini elected as lower house deputy speaker

Yasini elected as lower house deputy speaker

Mar 12, 2013 - 17:58

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Lawmaker Mirwais Yasini was elected as first deputy speaker of the lower house while Seyd Akram as secretary in the parliamentary board's elections on the fourth consecutive day of voting on Tuesday.

Yasini, a public representative from eastern Nangahar province, received 129 votes from 219 members present against his rival Dawoud Kalakani, who got 113 votes.

On Sunday, Irfanullah Irfan, an MP from Kabul, was elected as deputy secretary and Mohammad Saleh Saljooqi  from Herat was able make it to the second deputy speaker slot.

Besides Yasini, MP Abdul Zahir Qadir, Abdul Hafiz Mansoor, Obidullah Kalimzai, Abdul Rahim Ayubi, Khalid Pashtoon, Wagma Sapi, Mohammad Akhtar Stanikzai and Sima Joinda ran for the first deputy speaker, but had not been able to receive 50 percent of votes, 111, necessary for election to the post.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update