Pajhwok Services

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Spin Ghar Tigers, Band-i-Amir Eagles beat rivals

Spin Ghar Tigers, Band-i-Amir Eagles beat rivals

Jun 22, 2013 - 14:23

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): An inter-zone cricket tournament “Etisalat Sixes” got underway at the Kabul international cricket stadium on Saturday, with Spin Ghar Tigers and Band-i-Amir Eagles registering their victories on the day one of the cricket board-initiated mega event.

Five best teams from Afghanistaninfo-icon’s five zones --- Spin Ghar Tigers (eastern zone), Mes Ainak Champions (southeastern zone), Amu Divers (northern zone) Best Guards (southern zone) and Band-i-Amir Eagles from central zone are taking part in the tournament.

Afghanistan Cricket Board’s spokesman Farid Hotak told Pajhwok Afghan News the opening match was played between Band-i-Amir Eagles and Amu Divers.

Eagles’ captain Nabi Esakhel, who won the toss, chose to bat and his side managed to pile up 131 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs game.

Hashmatullah Shahidi made 40 runs and Nabi contributed 26. For the Divers, Sharfuddin took three wickets while Ezatullah Daulatzai and Javed Ahmadi shared two wickets apiece.

The ACB spokesman said the Divers failed to chase the target and were bundled out for 73 runs in the 15th over.

Younus and Mirajuddin made 23 and 13 runs respectively, but no other batsman for the side could make it to double digits, thanks to Nasrullah and Nabi’s stuns. Both shared three wickets each. Mahmood got one wicket. Nabi was declared the man of the match.

The second match was between Spin Ghar Tigers and Mes Ainak Champions in the afternoon. The Tigers, who won the toss and elected to bat first, took to a flying start. They set a tough target of 210 runs with five wickets in hand after playing all the 20 overs.

Shafiqullah Shafaq emerged top scorer with 46 runs. He was followed by Karim Sadiq with 42 and Najib Taraki with 35 runs.

For the Mes Ainak Champions, Rahmat Shah grabbed four wickets and Gulbadin Naib one.

The Champions suffered a humiliating defeat as they lost all wickets for just 47 runs in the 13th over.

Hamid Hassan clinched three wickets and Karim Sadiq and Zahir Zargai two wickets each. Saqiq was the man of the match.

The winning teams were distributed prizes by ACB chief executive Dr. Noor Mohammad Murad, cricket board adviser Nasimullah Danish and Etisalat representative Javed.

On Sunday, Best Guards will take on Amu Divers in the morning and Spin Ghar Tigers on Band-i-Amir Eagles in the afternoon at the same venue.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment