Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Karzai appoints 9 election panel members

Karzai appoints 9 election panel members

Jul 29, 2013 - 16:16

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): President Hamid Karzai appointed nine members of the Independent Election Commission on Monday, a day after he was sent a list of 28 nominees in line with a new poll law.

Najibullah Amin, the deputy head of the administrative affairs office at the Presidential Palace, told a news conference in Kabul Karzai had chosen nine of the candidates.

The newly- appointed IECinfo-icon members are Abdur Rahman Hotaki, Gulalai Achakzai, Sharifa Zurmati, Ahmad Yousaf Nuristani, Sareer Ahmad Barmak, Laila Ihrari, Qazi Suleman Hamid, Mohammad Aziz Bakhtiari and Mohammad Hussain Garziwani.

In mid-July, a joint commission of both houses of parliament approved a new election law, envisaging the creation of a committee to introduce Electoral Complaints Commission and IEC members to the president.

The committee includes parliamentary speakers, the chief justice, civil societyinfo-icon representatives, human rights campaigners and other officials.

Due to differences, civil society groups have not yet named their representatives for the committee, which jerked into action last week.

Of the 345 candidates for IEC members, 269 met the required terms and conditions and submitted their applications to the committee.

On July 20, President approved the election law that has the 16 chapters and was adopted by a joint parliamentary team.




Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update