Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

New IEC members take oath, vow neutrality

New IEC members take oath, vow neutrality

Jul 31, 2013 - 16:18

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Newly-nominated Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) members were sworn in at the Presidential Palace on Wednesday; a couple of days after President Hamid Karzai approved their appointments.

Karzai administered oath to Abdur Rahman Hotaki, Gulalai Achakzai, Sharifa Zurmati, Ahmad Yousaf Nuristani, Sareer Ahmad Barmak, Laila Ihrari, Qazi Suleman Hamid, Mohammad Aziz Bakhtiari and Mohammad Hussain Garziwani.

Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon Speaker Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi, Chief Justice Abdul Salam Azimi and outgoing IEC head and members attended the oath-taking ceremony, a statement from the Presidential Palace said.

The incoming commissioners pledged to perform their duties with sincerity, efficiency, complete neutrality and in line with the constitution and other laws of Afghanistaninfo-icon.

Following the ceremony, Karzai asked foreigners not to interfere in the electoral process and pledged his government would not influence the polls. He was optimistic of the new commissioners measuring up to public expectations.

Karzai commended the services of the outgoing IEC chief and staffers. He congratulated the new members of the panel and wished them the best of luck in their assignments.

Addressing the new members of the poll panel, the president said they shouldered a great responsibility in boosting democracy in the country.




Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update