Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

New members to run for top IEC slots

New members to run for top IEC slots

Aug 01, 2013 - 15:40

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): The Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) on Thursday announced its newly-appointed members would run for the panel’s head, deputy chief and secretary on Saturday.

Last week, 27 people were recommended by the selection committee to President Hamid Karzai, who picked nine of them as IEC members.

Karzai appointed Abdul Rahman Hotaki, Gulalai Achakzai, Sharifa Zurmati, Ahmad Yousuf Nuristani, Sareer Ahmad Barmak, Laila Ihrari, Qazi Suleman Hamid, Mohammad Aziz Bakhtiari and Mohammad Hussain Garziwani.

They were sworn in at a ceremony the Presidential Palace on Wednesday. The new commissioners pledged to demonstrate complete neutrality and ensure transparency in the polls.

On Saturday, the new members would run for the IEC chief, deputy and secretary, Noor Mohammad Noor, the poll panel’s spokesman, told Pajhwok Afghan News.

Ahmad Yousuf Nuristani and Abdul Rahman Hotaki have nominated themselves for the IEC head, said Sharifa Zurmati, one of the commissioners.

Laila Ihrari and Sareer Barmak are in the run for the deputy head and Aziz Bakhtiari and Suleman Hamid for secretary, she added.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update