Pajhwok Services

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Yousaf Nuristani elected new IEC chief

Yousaf Nuristani elected new IEC chief

Aug 03, 2013 - 13:43

KABULinfo-icon (PAN): Dr. Ahmad Yousaf Nuristani and Abdul Rahman Hotaki were elected respectively as Independent Election Commission (IEC) chairman and deputy chief on Saturday.

IECinfo-icon member Sharifa Zurmati told Pajhwok Afghan News that Nuristani defeated Sareer Ahmad Barmak while Hotaki outpolled Qazi Suleman Hamid.

They replace Fazal Ahmad Manawi and Abdul Khaliq Hussaini. Also a former lawmaker, Zurmati said Gulalai Achakzai was elected as IEC secretary.

Last week, 27 people were recommended by the selection committee to President Hamid Karzai, who picked nine of them as IEC members.

Karzai appointed Abdul Rahman Hotaki, Gulalai Achakzai, Sharifa Zurmati, Ahmad Yousaf Nuristani, Sareer Ahmad Barmak, Laila Ihrari, Qazi Suleman Hamid, Mohammad Aziz Bakhtiari and Mohammad Hussain Garziwani.

They were sworn in at a ceremony the Presidential Palace on Wednesday. The new commissioners pledged to demonstrate complete neutrality and ensure transparency in the polls.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment