Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Race for presidency begins with runners' registration

Race for presidency begins with runners' registration

Sep 16, 2013 - 14:07

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): The Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) on Monday announced the beginning of the candidate registration process for presidential and provincial elections.

Noor Mohammad Noor, the IEC spokesman, said registration offices would remain open from 8am till 4pm and from 8.30am till 1:30pm on Thursdays.

No candidate has so far registered for the presidential election due in April 2014. The process would continue till October 6, the official told reporters in Kabul.

Presidential runners are required to have a clean track record, should have 100,000 supporters and the ability to deposit id="mce_marker"7,985 in the IEC account in security.

A provincial council wannabe should have at least 200 voter cards (supporters) and the ability to deposit $360 in the IEC account, the spokesman said.

The final list of candidates will be displayed on November 7. Noor said 29 individuals had so far been issued with information kits for presidential candidates.

Another 1126, including 100 womeninfo-icon, have received information kits for provincial council candidates. However, he stopped short of identifying the recipients.

An IEC source told Pajhwok Afghan News on Sunday that 30 likely presidential candidates, including important political figures, had been issued with information kits on next year’s polls.

The recipients included National Coalition of Afghanistaninfo-icon leaders Dr. Abdullah Abdullah and Ahmad Zia Massoud, IEC spokesman confirmed.

Security Transition Commission head Dr. Ashraf Ghani, Commerce Minister Dr. Anwarul Haq Ahady, Right and Justice Party chief Hanif Atmar, Mohammad Mohaqiq, ex-defence minister Abdul Rahim Wardak also received the kits.

 Presidential Advisor Hakim Nawrozi, Nangarhar Governor Gul Agha Sherzai, Sardar Mohammad Nader Naeem, Eng. Abdullah Kandahari, Sarwar Ahmadzai, Dil Aqa Kohdamani, Daud Sultanzoy, Khadija Ghaznavi, Mohammad Yousaf Wayar and Younus Fakoor are also eyeing the top constitutional office.

Noor added after September 27, the IEC would send mobile voter registration teams to remote rural areas to give voter cards to the people who were unable to travel to provincial capitals for registration. The process will last 45 days.




Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update