Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Who is who on IECC?

Who is who on IECC?

Sep 19, 2013 - 20:21

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Three members of the Independent Electoral Complaint Commission (IECC) have studied law and political science, one graduated from history and geography and the fifth did masters in journalism and human rights.

The five individuals, who were sworn in at a ceremony in Kabul on Thursday include Abdul Sattar Sadat, Reda Azimi, Nadar Muhseni, Paighambar Qul Doghan and Azizullah Aryafar. They were among the 15 short-listed individuals introduced by the selection committee to the President.

After taking oath on Thursday, the members held a ballot, electing Sadat as the commission chief, Azimi as his deputy, Mohseni as secretary and spokesman of the IECC.

Sadat, son of Abdul Jabar, was born in 1979 in northern Baghlan province, where he studied high school before doing his masters in law and political science from Kabul University in 2000.

A poet and writer, Sadat established a cultural centre in Baghlan and worked as a civil societyinfo-icon activist. He remained administrative board’s member of the Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon.

Azimi was born in 1969 in central Parwan province. She studied journalism at Kabul University and obtained a bachelor degree in human rights from Denmark.

She worked as editor-in-chief for a magazine named Womeninfo-icon Rights, and was head of coordination office of Afghanistaninfo-icon-Pakistaninfo-icon, and had worked as deputy of rights and social justice of Afghanistan.

She was appointed as member of Meshrano Jirgainfo-icon on reserved seat by President in 2005 and has been working as a commissioner of the Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) over the past one and a half years.

She has authored three books namely “Women Rights in Islamic Countries”, “Domestic Violence Against Women” and “announcement is a crime”.

Muhseni was born in 1978 in Yakawlang district of northern Bamyan province. He graduated from law and political science faculty of Kabul University in 2005.

Without giving details, he told Pajhwok Afghan News that he had obtained a master’s degree in law from a foreign country.

He has worked as head of the registration department at the Oversight and Anti-Corruption Commission and taught as lecturer at private educationinfo-icon institutes including Katib, Tolo Aftab and Gharjistan in Kabul.

Aryafar was born in 1969 in central Parwan province and has acquired BA degree in law and political science from Kabul University.

From 1992 to 1997, he worked as director of publications for Afghan film and worked as publication manager at Radio Television of Afghanistan (RTA) during the interim government.

Since 2009, he has been working as director of information and public relations at the IEC.

Doghan was born in 1954 in the Aaqcha district of Jawzjan province. After his high school, he graduated from history and geography from the education faculty of Kabul University.

He was the translation department head at the Ministry of Education and was the chairman of carpet export union. He also served as district chief for Andkhoi, Darzabad and Qarqeen districts of Jawzjan.




Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update