Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

New ministers sworn in, greeted by Karzai

New ministers sworn in, greeted by Karzai

Dec 30, 2013 - 16:59

KABULinfo-icon (PANinfo-icon): Five Cabinet members, who won a vote of confidence from the Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon on Wednesday, were sworn in by President Hamid Karzai on Monday.

Zarar Ahmad Osmani took oath as foreign minister, Mohammad Arif Noorzai as energy and water minister, Shakir Kargar as commerce minister, Mohammad Akbar Barakzai as petroleum and mines minister and Din Mohammad Rashidi as counternarcotics minister.

According to a statement from the Presidential Palace, the ministers pledged to discharge their responsibilities to the best of their ability and in accordance with Islamic teachings, as well as Afghan laws.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, President Hamid Karzai greeted the Cabinet members -- whose predecessors have resigned to contest the presidential April 2014 vote. Karzai urged them to serve their country in the best possible manner.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update