Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

BD trounce Afghanistan in World T20 opener

BD trounce Afghanistan in World T20 opener

Mar 16, 2014 - 11:17

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Hosts Bangladesh (BD) made short work of Afghanistaninfo-icon in the opener of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Worldinfo-icon Twenty20 (T20) tournament in Mirpur on Sunday.

Farid Hotak, the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) spokesman, told Pajhwok Afghan New the hosts won the toss and put the Afghans in. Afghanistan were bundled them out for a paltry 72 in 17.1 overs.

Mohammad Shahzad was dismissed on the very first delivery of the match from Mashrafi Murtaza. Najib Taraki was caught off Shakibul Hasan, who also captured Gulbadin Naib's wicket, leaving the Afghan top order in tatters.

Skipper Mohammad Nabi was sent back to the pavilion for three runs by Abdul Razzaq. Nawroz Mangal was run out for a duck. Samiullah Shinwari was trapped leg before wicket (lbw) by Razzaq for one soon after Karim Sadiq was run out for 10.

Shafiqullah lost his wicket to Mohammadullah for 16, making matters worse for his team. Dawlat Zadran could make only one run. On the face of it, the Afghan innings appeared a procession as the batsmen kept heading toward the pavilion. They were skittled out for 72 when Shapoor Zadran was bowled.

In reply, Bangladesh lost only Tamim Iqbal for 21 to reach the target, with Anamul Haq and Shakibul Hasan staying unbeaten at 44 and 10 respectively. The only wicket-taker for Afghanistan was Shinwari.

Players from both sides shook hands with Bangladesh Cricket Board Chairman officials as anthems of both nations were played.

The hosts won the toss and elected to put the opposition in. The 50-over match began at 2:00pm (Afghanistan time). The encounter is being played at the Sheri Bangla National Stadium in the host country’s capital.

Farid Hotak, the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) spokesman, told Pajhwok Afghan New the national team was all poised to face the rivals. Afghanistan beat Bangladesh in a 50-over Asia Cup match recently.

Afghanistan's squad included Mohammad Nabi (c), Karim Sadiq, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Asghar Stanikzai, Nawroz Mangal, Samiullah Shinwari, Najibullah Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf, Shapoor Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Najib Tarakai, Dawlat Zadran , Aftab Alam, Hamza Hotak, Shafiqullah.

Bangladesh was represented by Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque (wk), Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah Riad, Shamsur Rahman, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Morataza, Al-Amin Hossain, Sabir Rahman, Farhad Reza.

Earlier, Mushfiqur Rahim, the skipper of Bangladesh, said his team was ready to take on Afghans to avenge the defeat. Afghanistan have qualified for the World T20 Tournament twice before but failed to win any match.

During the 22-day event, 35 matches will be played across Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet. Also on Sunday, Hong Kong and Nepal are to meet in Chittagong.

As of October 8, 2012, the top eight sides following the conclusion of the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka will play directly in the Super 10 stage. Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, failing to make it to the top eight, will be among the eight sides participating in the first round from March 16 to 21.

On March 21, the Super 10 stage will begin with an evening encounter between former champions India and Pakistaninfo-icon in Dhaka.

The Group 1 of Super Ten comprises Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand and Group B Qualifier 1 (Q1B), while Group 2 involves the West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia and Group A Qualifier 1 (Q1A).





Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update