Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Noted individuals get highest civil awards

Noted individuals get highest civil awards

Apr 09, 2014 - 20:24

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): President Hamid Karzai on Wednesday conferred highest civil awards on a number of prominent personalities, including writers, poets, political experts, social workers and literary figures.

The recipients include Abul Ahad Momand, a former Afghan Air Force aviator who became the first Afghan and fourth Muslim to journey to outer space, and prominent literary figures who helped created awareness among the Afghans with their lifetime's achievements in creative and research work.

At a special function organised at the Presidential Palace, President Karzai said literature, religion, poetry and expression were the integral part of life in Afghanistaninfo-icon. He said he felt proud of himself to be meeting and honouring the legends in the field of literature, knowledge, research and social science.

“It is a moment of great pride for me to appreciate your efforts as the president of Afghanistan,” said Karzai, who prayed for long life of the noted personalities to continue serving the soil in areas of knowledge, literature, language, research and culture and showing the worldinfo-icon the real picture of Afghanistan regarding its history and development.

The function was also attended by presidential advisor on religious affairs Niamatullah Shahrani, who said it was possibly for the first time in Afghanistan that noted personalities were honoured during their lifetime. In the past, he said, it had been usual that legends would receive appreciation for their services after death and today’s event changed the trend.

The recipients of the Mir Masjid Khan Award include Prof. Nimatullah Shahrani, Jalal Noorani, Samiullah Taza, Abdul Sattar Purdali, Haideri Wajodi, Dr. Mohammad Yaqub Wahidi, Prof. Mohammad Sadiq Raziqi Nariwal, Mohaqiq Abdul Malik Lamwal, Maulviinfo-icon Zainullah Manalai, Dr. Syed Abdul Qayum Sajjadi, Rahnord Zaryab, Syed Hussain Fakhri, Dr. Mohammad Ikram Osman, Saleh Rasikh Yaldram, Sarwar Mulai, Mohammad Masoom Hotak, Prof. Abdul Wasi Latifi, Wasif Bakhtari, Abdul Bari Jahani, Asadullah Ghazanfar, Hidayatullah Hafiz, Raza Mohammadi, Abdul Wahid Momand, Latif Bhand and Najmur Rahman Mawaj.

Likewise, Abdul Ahad Eshrati, Rashid Saljoqi, Abdul Ghafoor Arzo, Prof. Mir Hussain Shah, Prof. Aali Mohammad and Usad Abdullah Bakhtani were conferred the Ghazi Mir Bacha Khan Medal.

Habibullah Rafi received the Ghazi Mullahinfo-icon Mashk Alam Khan Award and Safia Siddique, Gulalai Habib, Spozhmai Zaryab and Shafiqa Yarqin received the Malalai Award.

President Karzai also directed the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to deliver through its missions abroad the medals announced for those currently staying in foreign countries and were not present at the function.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update