Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

16 Nangarhar, Logar polling centres remain closed

16 Nangarhar, Logar polling centres remain closed

Jun 14, 2014 - 08:51

JALALABAD/PUL-I-ALAM (Pajhwok): The Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) in eastern Nangarhar and central Logar provinces said on Saturday around ten and six polling stations were closed due to security concerns.

During the runoff ballot, a total of 393 polling stations were scheduled to be opened throughout the province. However, IEC Director Khwaja Aminullah Fazli said that 383 centres had been opened.

Security forces pledged to strive to keep the ten polling centres opened on the Election Day, which were located in Hisarak, Sherzad, Pacheragam and Chaparhar districts. Brig. Gen. Fazl Ahmad Sherzad, provincial police chief, confirmed closure of ten centers but said that efforts were on to open the centers.

In Logar,IEC Director Dr. Niamatullah Wardak said six polling centres had to be shut down because security could not be ensured to these centres. As many as 77 polling centres were due to be opened but three of them in Kharwar, Charkh and Azara districts had to be closed.

Brig. Gen. Abdul Halim Ishaqzai, provincial police chief, confirmed closure of the polling centres in three districts.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update