Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Council of Ministers named after months of dithering

Council of Ministers named after months of dithering

Jan 12, 2015 - 15:43

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): More than 105 days after its inauguration, the unity government on Monday finally announced a long-awaited list of 25 ministers-designate and the National Directorate of Security (NDSinfo-icon) head.

During a gathering at the Presidential Palace, names of the ministers-designate were announced. The cabinet picks, who will be referred to the Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon shortly, are:

Zalmai Younusi, minister of educationinfo-icon;

Salahuddin Rabbani, minister of foreign affairs;

Barna Karimi, minister of information technology;

Sardar Mohammad Rahimi, minister of trade and commerce;

Dr. Ferozuddin Feroz, minister of public healthinfo-icon;

Najiba Ayubi, minister of womeninfo-icon’s affairs;

Mahmood Saiqal, minister of energy and water;

Sardar Mohammad Rahman Oghli, minister of economy;

Eng. Naseer Ahmad Durrani, minister of rural rehabilitation and development;

Noor-ul-Haq Ulumi, minister of interior;

Ahmad Sayar Mahjoor, minister of justice;

Sher Mohammad Karimi, minister of defence;

Jilani Popal, minister of finance;

Amaruddin Shinwari, minister of border and tribal affairs;

Faizullah Zaki, minister of transport;

Sadat Naderi, minister of labour and social affairs;

Mahmood Gul Zalmai, minister of refugees;

Nabi Farahi, minister of parliamentary affairs;

Khatira Afghan, minister of higher education;

Sanjar Kargar, minster of transportation and civil aviation;

Dr. Abbas Basir, minister of public works;

Yaqub Haideri, minister of agricultureinfo-icon;

Daud Saba, minister of mines;

Syed Alami Balkhi, minister of refugees;

Faiz Mohammad Osmani, minister of hajjinfo-icon;

Faizullah Kakar, minister of counternarcotics;

Al Sultan Khairi, minister of information;

Khalili Siddique, central bank governor;

Shah Zaman Maiwandi, minister of urban development; and

Rahmatullah Nabil, the NDS director.

Chief Executive Officer Dr. Abdullah would introduce the cabinet picks to the Wolesi Jirga for a vote of confidence in the afternoon, Presidential Palace official Hameed Sozan said.   

The unity government took office three and a half months back when the president pledged to name the cabinet within 45 days. But he has since been dithering on the issue.

Differences between Ghani and Chief Executive Officer Dr Abdullah on some nominations are said to have forced the government to miss deadlines so far.

During the oath-taking ceremony on September 29, 2014, Ghani had said cabinet picks would be introduced within 45 days, a promise that was honoured in breach.

At the London Conference, the president and CEO set another deadline of four weeks but they failed once again to introduce the cabinet nominees to the parliament for trust vote.

Two weeks back, the president set a one week deadline. But the result was the same, prompting criticism from the parliament and civil societyinfo-icon.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.




Twitter Update