Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Nabi, Shinwari in run for best player award

Nabi, Shinwari in run for best player award

Nov 05, 2014 - 16:32

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Afghanistaninfo-icon's Mohammad Nabi and Samiullah Shinwari have been shortlisted for the best player award from the International Cricket Council’s Associates and Affiliates teams.

The pair will fight for the prestigious award with Scotland duo Calum MacLeod and Preston Mommsen as ICC chief executive David Richardson announced the shortlists for the 2014 awards on Wednesday, with the winner to be announced on November 14.

Happy with the announcement, Issakhel told Pajhwok Afghan News he had always tried to play well and win for Afghanistan.

Issakhel was talking to Pajhwok ahead of leaving for the UAE to attend an ongoing training session there as of the national side’s preparations in the lead-up to next year’s Worldinfo-icon Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

“I, Shinwari, and all the team always try to bring home laurels and victories. We don’t play to be selected for rewards, but for the country,” he said.  He attributed the side’s achievements and successes to prayers of the nation and urged the Afghans to continue praying for their team.

Prolific Sri Lankan batsman Kumar Sangakkara and fiery Australian paceman Mitchell Johnson were in line for a rare double as cricketer of the year.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa's AB de Villiers are also in the shortlist for cricketer of the year award. Johnson, Mathews and Sangakkara as well as Australia opener David Warner have also been in contention for the ICC Test cricketer of the year award.

For the ICC one-day cricketer of the year award, South African trio of Quinton de Kock, Dale Steyn and de Villiers will vie with India's Virat Kohli.

For the ICC womeninfo-icon's cricketer of the year award, two former winners have been shortlisted. English duo of Gary Ballance and Ben Stokes, and New Zealand's pair of Corey Anderson and Jimmy Neeshan have been shortlisted for the ICC emerging cricketer of the year award.

The ICC also announced its Test and one-day teams for 2014, with Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews as captain for the longer format while Dhoni will lead the limited overs team.




Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update