Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Parliamentary panels reject 7 cabinet nominees

Parliamentary panels reject 7 cabinet nominees

Jan 21, 2015 - 20:24

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Four Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon panels on Wednesday rejected the nomination of seven ministers-designate for holding dual nationality, lawmakers said.

Lower House Deputy Secretary Irfanullah Irfan told Pajhwok Afghan News the decision came at a joint sitting of members of the four parliamentary commissions.

He said the dual citizens were referred back to the Presidential Palace after their nominations were rejected. Another two nominees were rejected after their documents were found invalid, he said, but did not name them.

Irfan identified the dual nationality-holders as Noorul Haq Ulumi, interior minister-designate, Saadat Naderi (labour and social affairs), Ai Sultan Khairi (information and culture), Salahuddin Rabbani (foreign affairs), Shah Zaman Maiwandi (urban development), Faizullah Kakar (counter-narcotics) and Ahmad Syar Mahjoor (justice).

Abdul Qadir Zazai, who heads the international affairs committee, also confirmed to Pajhwok the rejection of seven nominees. “It is a no-turning-back decision,” he insisted.

President Ashraf Ghani introduced 24 ministers-designate and heads of two independent departments to parliament a day earlier for a vote of confidence.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.




Twitter Update