Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Several parliamentary panels get new heads, deputies

Several parliamentary panels get new heads, deputies

Mar 12, 2015 - 12:53

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): A number of Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon commissions have held elections for appointing their administrative board chiefs, deputy heads and secretaries, an official said on Thursday.

On Saturday, the assembly entered its fifth and last legislative year and voted to elect the first and second deputy speakers, the secretary and his deputy.

Abdul Zahir Qadeer was elected as first deputy speaker, Nazir Ahmad Ahmadzai as second deputy speaker, Abdur Rauf Inami as secretary and Irfanullah Irfan as deputy secretary.

Based on the house rules of business, lawmakers have to vote every year to elect heads, deputy heads and secretaries of the 18 commissions of the lower hous.

Wolesi Jirga Secretary Abdur Rauf Inami told Pajhwok Afghan News the legislators on Wednesday held elections for administrative boards of a number of parliamentary commissions.

MP Fawzia Kofi was elected as head, Sherin Mohseni as deputy head and Aziza Jalis as secretary of the womeninfo-icon affairs, civil societyinfo-icon and human rights commission.

Mohammad Nangyal was elected as head, Rahila Salim as deputy chief and Rahima Jame as secretary of the international affairs commission.

Mohammad Akbari, Hamidullah Tokhi and Nader Shah Bahar were respectively elected as head, deputy chief and secretary of the disabled and martyr affairs panel.

On the commission of defence affairs, Humayun was elected as head, Ali Akbar Qasim as deputy chief and Syed Nader Shah as secretary.

Inami added Zakaria Sawda, Abdur Rahman Shaidani and Saifora Ilkhani were elected as head, deputy head and secretary of the natural resource and environmentinfo-icon protection commission.

Kamal Naser Osuli was elected as head, Khalilullah Shahidzada as deputy head and Lailuma Wali Hukmi as secretary of the commission on religious, educationinfo-icon and cultural affairs.

Likewise, Mir Rhaman Rahmani was chosen as head and Safia Aimaq as secretary of the national economy and agricultural and livestock commission.

Mohammad Naeem Hamidzai Lalai, Abdul Wadood Popal and Chaman Shah were elected as counternarcotics commission head, deputy and secretary.

Also, Qais Hassan, Syed Ikramuddin Masumi and Musa Khan Nasrat were elected to the three slots on the communications commission.

Mirdad Khan Najrabi, Abdulhai Akhundzada and Shekiba Hashimi grabbed the top positions on the domestic security commission. Administrative bards of the remaining panels will be elected on Saturday.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.




Twitter Update