Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Electoral reform commission constituted -- finally

Electoral reform commission constituted -- finally

Mar 22, 2015 - 11:37

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani on Saturday issued a decree for constituting a long-awaited electoral reform commission, meeting a key condition in the power-sharing agreement.

The panel would suggest reforms in the electoral system, ways of improving democratic norms, restoring public trust in government institutions and respect for rule of law, the Presidential Palace said.  

In a statement the palace said, commission would be led by Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon member Shukria Barakzai. Siddiqullah Tawhidi has been appointed as deputy head of the commission.

Ali Amiri, Abdul Qadir Qaryab, Bashir Farooq, Dr. Mohammad Amin Ahmadi, Faizullah Zaki, Kawoon Kakar, Sabrina Saqib, Gul Ahmad Madadzai and Azizullah Rafiyee, Justice Ministry representative Abdul Majid Ghanizada, UN official Tadamichi Yamoto are its members.

Shah Sultan Akifi and Wazhma Farogh are secretaries of the commission, which has been tasked with conducting its activities under the relevant terms of reference as outlined in the presidential decrees.

Without elaborating on the terms of reference, the statement said electoral reforms were part of the agreement between the president his chief executive officer on forming the national unity government.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.




Twitter Update