Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

WJ approves all 16 ministers-designate

WJ approves all 16 ministers-designate

Apr 18, 2015 - 15:13

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon or lower house of parliament on Saturday approved President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani’s picks for 16 ministries.

Of 239 lawmakers attended the session, 184 voted in favour of proposed nominee for Ministr of Higher Educationinfo-icon Dr. Farida Momand.

Asadullah Hanafi Balkhi minister-designate for education secured 161 votes, Ali Ahmad Osmani minister-designate for energy and water 168 votes and Asadullah Zameer, nominee for agricultureinfo-icon ministry grabbed 192 votes.

As many as 170 ballots were cast in favour of minister-designate for commerce and industries, 120 in favor of Abdul Bari Jahani nominee for information and culture ministry.

 Sayed Mansour Naderi won a high number of 202 votes, declaring minister for urban development affairs.

Nasrin Oryakhail, nominee for ministry of labor, social affairs and martyrs bagged 169 votes, Dilbar Nazari, minister-designate womeninfo-icon affairs won 131 votes and Engineer Mahmood Baligh secured 168 votes and became minister for public works.

Ghani’s choice for counternarcotics portfolio Salamat Azimi bagged 155 votes and transport and civil aviation minister-designate Dr. Mohammadullah Batash won 176 votes.

Similarly, Dr. Abdul Basir Anwar nominee for the ministry of justice won 138 votes and Mohammad Gulab Mangal became minister for borders and tribal affairs with 188 votes.

Abdul Razaq Wahidi, minister -designate for information technology and communication, was also confirmed as minister with securing 152 votes. Abdul Sattar Murad declared as economy minister by getting 152 votes.

More than two weeks back, the government introduced 16 ministers-designate for a vote of confidence and the session held today to complete the long delayed process. 

Over 239 lawmakers attended the today’s session and the minister-designate needed 120 votes to be declared winner for the post. 

Earlier, the government introduced 25 ministers-designate and heads of two independent departments out of which only eight ministers and director of the spy agency managed to win trust vote.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.




Twitter Update