Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

ACB names squad for Intercontinental Cup match against PNG

ACB names squad for Intercontinental Cup match against PNG

Nov 11, 2015 - 13:17

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Afghanistaninfo-icon Cricket Board (ACB) has announced a 15-member national team for the ICC Intercontinental Cup match against Papua New Guinea (PNG), an official said on Wednesday.

Keeping in view the importance of the upcoming event, the selection committee chose the squad after evaluating the performance and fitness of players, ACB spokesman Farid Hotak said.

ACB Chairman Nasimullah Danish said the national side was fully prepared for the four-day encounter, which is scheduled to commence at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 21.

The team includes Shabir Noori, Noor Ali Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Shahzad Mohammadi, Asghar Stanikzai, Mohammad Nabi Issakhel, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Daulat Zadran, Yameen Ahmadzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rashid Khan and Nawaz Khan. 

Former skipper Nawroz Mangal, who did not perform well in recent matches, has been excluded from the line-up -- an omission that cricket expert Zarab Shah Zaheer frowned upon.

Shah hailed Mangal as a seasoned cricketer, with ample experience in playing four-day matches. He asked the board not to be moved by social media commentaries on picking the national team.

The rain-hit Intercontinental Cup match between Afghanistan and Scotland had ended in a draw, The Scots won 14 points because of their better performance while the Afghans had to be content with seven points.

The side that wins the ICC Intercontinental Cup 2015-17 round-robin league will play the bottom-ranked Test team on the Reliance ICC Test Team Rankings in the ICC Test Challenge in 2018.

The tournament featuresinfo-icon Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Hong Kong, PNG, the Netherlands and Namibia.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.




Twitter Update