Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

China reaffirms commitment for Afghan peace process

China reaffirms commitment for Afghan peace process

Dec 02, 2017 - 10:51

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok) Chinese Premier Li Keqiang  has said his country was willing to play a constructive role in Afghanistaninfo-icon’s peaceful reconstructioninfo-icon, according to a media report on Saturday.

Li made the commitment when during a meeting with Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Abdullah Abdullah on the sidelines of the 16th meeting of the Council of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Heads of Government.

The Chinese Primer says Beijing support a wide and inclusive political reconciliation process led and owned by the Afghan people, and is ready to assist Afghanistan in realizing its domestic political stability and economic development.

Expanding pragmatic cooperation between China and Afghanistan on economy and trade could not be done without a safe and stable externalinfo-icon environmentinfo-icon, said Li, adding that China will enhance dialogue and cooperation with Afghanistan and  Pakistaninfo-icon with the goal of achieving long-term regional stability and security in an early date.

Abdullah called China a good neighbor of Afghanistan, saying developing ties with China conforms with the common interests of the two countries.

Afghanistan appreciates China's efforts to promote the reconciliation process in Afghanistan, as well as its positive role in promoting the country's economic reconstruction, capacity-building and livelihood improvement and its assistance within multilateral frameworks, said Abdullah.

Afghanistan is ready to make joint efforts with China to take Afghanistan-China relations to a new height, he said.

The SCO has China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India and Pakistan as its full members. It has four observer states, namely Iran, Afghanistan, Belarus and Mongolia, and six dialogue partners, namely Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update