Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

BD announces squad for Afghanistan T20 series

BD announces squad for Afghanistan T20 series

May 21, 2018 - 13:12

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 15-member T20 squad for the three-match T20 International series against Afghanistaninfo-icon.

In their first-ever bilateral T20 contest, Bangladesh will play Afghanistan on June 3, 5 and 7 in Dehradun, India. One key inclusion was batsman Mosaddek Hossain Saikat.

An extremely gifted batsman, Mosaddek last played T20s in Sri Lanka last year. Mosaddek has been called up as back-up for Mehidy Hasan Mira.

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said they had injury concerns about Mehdi Hasan and believed Mosaddek's spin bowling could turn out to be useful.

Pace bowler Taskin Ahmed and wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan, both part of an extended Bangladesh squad in their last T20 engagement in Sri Lanka, have been excluded.

Ahead of playing their maiden Test against India in Bangalore from June 14 to 18, Afghanistan would have a chance to warm up for the big occasion.

Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider, Rubel Hossain and Abu Jayed are part of the team.

The chief selector was quoted as saying by Bangladeshi media: “We have two wicket-keepers in Liton Das and Mushfiqur Rahimand both are good batsmen…”

PANinfo-icon Monitor/mud

Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update