Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

List of Wolesi Jirga hopefuls from 8 more provinces issued

List of Wolesi Jirga hopefuls from 8 more provinces issued

Jul 01, 2018 - 10:56

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Independent Elections Commission (IECinfo-icon) on Sunday announced a preliminary list of Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon candidates, disqualifying 21 runners, including two womeninfo-icon.

According to an announcement from the poll panel, the list featuresinfo-icon parliamentary hopefuls from Herat, Parwan, Kapisa, Sar-i-Pul, Maidan Wardak, Paktika, Balkh and Daikundi.

Six contestants from Kapisa, three from Parwan, three from Paktika, as many from Maidan Wardak, two each from Balkh and Daikundi and one each from Herat and Sar-i-Pul were rejected.

Issues related to healthinfo-icon, voter cards from the constituencies concerned and duplication of identity cards from candidate supporters are the main reasons for disqualifications.

The commission is expected to announce another initial list of candidates from other provinces late in the day.

On Saturday, the IEC unveiled a preliminary list of candidates from Kabul, Bamyan, Uruzgan, Nuristan, Khost and Kunar provinces.


Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update