Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Afghans to open Asia Cup campaign against Lanka

Afghans to open Asia Cup campaign against Lanka

Jul 25, 2018 - 08:39

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Afghanistaninfo-icon will take on Sri Lanka in their Asia Cup match in Abu Dhabi, the United Arab Emirates, on September 17

The International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled the biennial event’s schedule on Tuesday. The tournament will begin from September 15.

In their second group-stage outing, the Afghans are scheduled to meet Bangladesh at the same venue on September 20.

Afghanistan, India, Pakistaninfo-icon, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have confirmed participation in the 2018 Asia Cup. The sixth spot is still up for grabs among the UAE, Singapore, Oman, Nepal, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

Group A consists of India, Pakistan and the qualifier while Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 4. The final will be played on 28 September in Dubai, according to the ICC schedule.

Full schedule

Group Stage

15 September - Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)

16 September - Pakistan vs Qualifier (Dubai)

17 September - Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

18 September - India vs Qualifier (Dubai)

19 September - India vs Pakistan (Dubai)

20 September - Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four

21 September - Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)

21 September - Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

23 September - Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)

23 September - Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

25 September - Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)

26 September - Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

The group stage has been divided into two pools for the first time. The six outfits will be cut down to four after the first round, with each playing the other in a round robin format.

The tournament will also revert to its traditional ODI format, which was last held in 2014 in Bangladesh. The 2016 edition was turned into a T20I tournament, serving as preparation for the Worldinfo-icon T20.


Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update