Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Nuristani, Nawaz Hayat sworn-in as new senators

Nuristani, Nawaz Hayat sworn-in as new senators

Sep 18, 2018 - 17:42

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Two more elective members of the Meshrano Jirgainfo-icon or upper house of parliament were administered oath of office on Tuesday, while one of them is yet to reach the legal age.

Ahmad Yusuf Nurisitani and Nawaz Sharif Hayat were introduced to the upper house by President Ashraf Ghani.

Tayyab Atta, secretary of the Meshrano Jirga, read out the president's verdict on the appointment of the two new senators.

He said Nuristani and Hayat replaced outgoing senators Najeeba Hussaini and Shafeeqa Nawrozkhel.

Under Article 86 of the Constitution, the president appoints one thirds of the3 Senate members for a five-year term from amongst experts and experienced personalities, including two members from amongst the impaired and handicapped, as well as two from nomads.

The president shall appoint 50 percent of these individuals from amongst womeninfo-icon. The individual selected as a member shall lose membership of the council, and another individual shall be appointed in accordance with the provisions of the law.

Nawaz Sharif Hayat, a tribal elder and Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon candidate Haji Hayatullah Khan were among four people killed in a suicide car bomb attack in Rudat district of eastern Nangarhar province on July 30th, 2018.

Two days back, Dr. Ghairat Baheer, Dr. Bakhtar Aminzai and Amanullah Azimi were sworn in as senator after being introduced by President Ghani.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update