Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

88,000 people dropped from voter lists over fraud

88,000 people dropped from voter lists over fraud

Sep 23, 2018 - 18:54

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) on Sunday announced initial voter lists from 10 provinces, rejecting more than 88,000 people over fraud.

The initial voter lists from Badghis, Bamyan, Kandahar, Khost, Kunduz, Laghman, Logar, Nimroz and Samangan provinces were announced at a press conference in the presence of election observers here.

According to IEC, 88,000 people out of 2.1 million people eligible to vote from 10 provinces have been removed from the voter lists.

Zabihullah Sadat, IEC deputy spokesman, told Pajhwok Afghan News that the process of entering voters’ information into the commission’s database was still ongoing and so far nine million people had been registered in the system.

He cited repeated registration, entering wrong information, age and not producing date of birth as reasons these voters were removed from the lists.

The voter lists of the 10 provinces would be put on noticeboards in the relevant registration centers for three days and complaints, if any, could be referred to the provincial Independent Electoral Complaints Commission (IECC), Sadat said.

He added initial voter lists from other provinces including Kabul would be published in near future.

The IEC said 9.072 million people have registered as voters across the country and information of nine million of them have so far entered the database.

Sadat said a complete list of fake voters or underage voters would be published after the data entry process of voters was ended.

The IEC last week also removed 24,000 voters from the initial lists which belonged to Farah, Zabul, Sar-I-Pul and Panjsher provinces.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update