Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Daudzai offered HPC secretary slot; consultative board named

Daudzai offered HPC secretary slot; consultative board named

Dec 08, 2018 - 20:57

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Former interior minister Omar Daudzai is being appointed as head of the High Peace Councilinfo-icon secretariat and members of the Consultative Peace Board have been named, a source said Saturday.

Daudzai agreed with President Ashraf Ghani to bow out of the presidential race and work as the HPC secretary and presidential advisor.

Earlier, Akram Khapalwak served on the post, but last month he resigned as HPC secretary and presidential advisor.

Sangar Amirzada, a close aide of Daudzai, confirmed contacts from the Presidential Palace with Daudzai and acknowledged similar discussions might be happened, but added details in this regard would be shared later.

It is said Daudzai is offered membership of the Consultative Peace Board. President Ghani announced at the NATOinfo-icon summit in Brussels that he had appointed a 12-member team led his chief of staff Salam Rahimi for talks with the Talibaninfo-icon.

The consultative board would give advises to the 12-member negotiating team.

A Cabinet minister told Pajhwok Afghan News that four bodies were being formed in connection with the peace process including the consultative board which was comprised of key government figures and former jihadiinfo-icon leaders.  These individuals would take decisions regarding peace, guide the negotiating team and oversee commitments regarding peace.

The consultative board would have 30 members --- from government side the president, his two deputies, the CEO and his two deputies, the national security advisor, the Chief Justice, the attorney general, the parliamentary affairs minister, the HPC and HPC secretariat chiefs, speakers of both houses of parliament and the spymaster.

Former jihadi leaders including Sibghatullah Mujadedi, Ustad Abdul Rab Rassoul Sayyaf, Gulbadin Hekmatyar, Syed Hamid Gilani, Mohammad Asif Muhseni, Younas Qanoni, Atta Mohammad Noor, Amarullah Saleh, Sadiqa Balkhi, Seema Samar and Amina Fazli are other members of the consultative board.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update