Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Final results of Wolesi Jirga polls from 9 provinces announced

Final results of Wolesi Jirga polls from 9 provinces announced

Jan 20, 2019 - 17:40

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Independent Election Commission (IECinfo-icon) on Sunday announced the first final results of the Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon elections from nine provinces.

IEC chief Abdul Baday Sayyad told a press conference here that the final Wolesi Jirga election results were from Uruzgan, Laghman, Bamyan, Parwan, Jawjzan, Daikundi, Zabul, Samangan and Nimroz provinces.

He said the results of other provinces would be announced once the Independent Electoral Complaints Commission (IECC) finalized the list and shared it with the IEC.

Sayyad wished the winning candidates best of luck and asked the failing candidates not to act against the law and instead follow their demands through legal sources.

According to the IEC, the following candidates have won the Wolesi Jirga elections in Uruzgan:

Bismillah Jan Mohammad who secured 1,420 votes, Qudratullah Rahimi secured 1,394 votes and Bibi Gulali Mohammadi 553 votes.

Winners from Laghman: Gen. Abdul MunirTarakhel with 4,048 votes, Qudratullah Rahimi 3,021 votes, Eng. Mohammad Alam Qarar 2,884 votes and Haji Zofnon Safi 1,787 votes.

Bamyan province

Mohammad Rahim Aliyar secured 10,529 votes, Haji Zahiruddin Jan Agha 9,945 votes, Sayed Jamal FakoriBehishti 9,021 votes and NikbakhtRahimi 6,167 votes.

Parwan: Abdul Aziz HamayonHarirod received 14,690 votes, Haji Mir RahmanRahmani 10,693 votes, Seddiq Ahmad Osmani 9,961 votes, Haji abdulZahirSalangi 9,329 votes, ZakiaSangin 5,451 votes and MastarSamiaAzizi Sadat 2,900 votes.

Jawzjan: Haji Bator Dustom received 20,045 votes, BaktashIshchi 6,818 votes, Mohammad KarimJawzjani 4,159 votes, AzizullahAlfati 3,515 votes and Halima SadafKarimi 1,154 votes.

Daikundi: Sayed Mohammad DaudNaseri secured 13,055 votes, RaihanaAzaad 12,590 votes, Ali Akbar Jamshidi 10,490 votes and SherinMohsini 10,480 votes.

Zabul: Abdul QaadirQalatwal secured 1,826 votes, HamidullahTokhi 1,458 votes and Zahra Tokhi 482 votes.

Samangan: HayatullahSamangani secured 9,256 votes, MakhdomAbdalullahMohmmadi 9,000 votes, Ziauddin Saba 6,261 votes and MahbobaRahmat 3,164 votes.

Nimroz: Farida Hamidi received 6,336 votes and Gul Ahmad Norzad 5,812 votes.

The Wolesi Jirga elections conducted on October 20 and 21 across 32 provinces of the country and in Kandahar, on October 27. Initial results of the elections were recently announced after many complaints about fraud and violations.

Initial Wolesi Jirga election results were scheduled for to be announced on November 10, 2018 but it was announced a month later from that date and the IEC said it was delayed due to some technical problems in the process.

A number of failed candidates in some provinces of the country had warned that they would hold massive protests if their demands regarding the results not accepted.


Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update