Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Another WJ delegation to probe speaker’s election

Another WJ delegation to probe speaker’s election

May 20, 2019 - 15:58

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon or lower house of Parliament has assigned a 27-member delegation, including 10 members of an earlier delegation, to resolve the dispute over the speaker’s election.

Earlier, a 15-member delegation comprised supporters of the two leading candidates for the speaker’s slot and five neutral members had been tasked to resolve the controversy over the speaker election process.

But some lawmakers termed the delegation as illegal as it did not enjoy endorsement of the house.

On Thursday, lawmakers Mir Rahman Rahmani, MirwaisYasini, Kamal Naser Osuli and Omar Nasir contested for the speaker post.

However, none could bag enough votes to become speaker of the house and the ballot went to a second round, which was deferred to Sunday.

Mir Rahman and Osuli, who received the highest numbers of votes on Thursday, were in the run for the slot in the second round of voting.

Atta Mohammad Dehqanpor, provisional speaker, said there were 247 lawmakers present in the house and a candidate was required to collect 124 votes to win the seat.

Based on the results announced after the voting, Rahmani received 123 votes (one vote short of the threshold) and Osuli 55. None was declared a winner as 53 votes were counted invalid and 13 were found blank.

Some MPs claimed Rahmani had met the 50-plus one vote threshold and was a winner but others said a winner must receive 50 percent plus one vote from the lawmakers present. The dispute divided lawmakers into two groups after Osuli rejected the result.

Mir Haidar Afzali, a lawmaker from Kapisa province, told reporters that the Wolesi Jirga gave approval to a new 27-member delegation to investigate the speaker election.

He said the delegation would refer to the archives, observer video clips, check  signatures of lawmakers on the election day and report the outcome of their findings to the lower house.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update