Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

India seal thrilling 11-run win against Afghanistan

India seal thrilling 11-run win against Afghanistan

Jun 23, 2019 - 02:15

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Afghanistaninfo-icon threatened one of the biggest shocks in Worldinfo-icon Cup history in Southampton on Saturday in a thrilling 11-run defeat to India.

Afghanistan lost the toss but restricted India to 224 for eight in their 50 overs, giving themselves a genuine chance for a huge upset.

They were well set at 106-2 in the 29th over, but two wickets of Rahmat Shah and Hashmatullah Shahidi fell in the same over, with the run-rate starting to edge up.

Mohammad Nabi and Najibullah Zadran batted sensibly, but when Zadran was caught by Yuzvendra, Afghanistan were 166-6 in the 42nd over.

With an incredible triumph within touching distance, Nabi was caught by Pandya at long on two balls later.

Mohammed Shami, who clean-bowled Aftab Alam and Mujeeb Ur Rahman in a dramatic hat-trick finally sealed a thrilling 11-run win over Afghanistan.

 “We bowled really well. We did well in batting, but credit to Bumrah for how he bowled in the last two or three overs,” frustrated Afghanistan captain Gulbadin Naib said.

India were on the back foot right at the start of the match when in-form opener Rohit Sharma was dismissed for just one by off-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

The rest of India's powerful top order all got established, with Kohli making 67 from 63 balls, but none went on to play a decisive innings for the two-time champions.

Off-spinner Mujeeb was particularly impressive, conceding just 26 runs in his 10 overs, while leg-spinner Rashid Khan bounced back from the most expensive spell in World Cup history against England to take 1-38.

Kohli, who scored half-centuries against Australia and Pakistaninfo-icon, reached his third consecutive fifty of the tournament off 48 balls, with four fours, but was caught by Shah off the bowling of Nabi.

Kedar Jadhav reached his fifty off 66 balls, giving the scorecard a look of respectability and the total ultimately proved just too much for Afghanistan.


India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (capt), Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib (capt), Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ikram Alikhil (wicketkeeper), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update