Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Audio Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Rahmani, Wardak in run for final vote on WJ speaker

Rahmani, Wardak in run for final vote on WJ speaker

Jun 26, 2019 - 19:06

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The third round of voting for the Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon speaker slot did not produce a winner on Wednesday and the final round of election would now take place between Rahman Rahmani and Khan Mohammad Wardak.

Khan Aqa Rezayee, Khan Mohammad Wardak, Seddiq Ahmad Osmani and Abdul Sattar Hussaini were candidates for today’s Wolesi Jirga speaker position.

In today’s session of the lower house, 237 lawmakers were present and a candidate was required to collect 119 votes to win the seat.

However, Wardak received 80 votes, Rezayee 77 votes, Seddiq Osmani 40 votes and Hussaini 14 votes, none were able to win. Four votes were counted as invalid and 22 as blank during the process.

Khan Mohammad Wardak and Khan Aqa Rezayee ran again for the vote but none could win it and fell below the threshold.

Malak Qais Noor Aqa Malakzai, temporary speaker of the house, said that none of the candidates could receive enough votes today to become the winner.

He said the final round of the vote would be conducted between Rahman Rahmani and Khan Mohammad Wardak according to the internal regulations of the lower house.

After inauguration of the 17th legislative term of the Wolesi Jirga on May 18, an election was conducted for the speaker position of the house but the poll went controversial.

On Monday, a controversial ballot paper used in the earlier Wolesi Jirga’s speaker election was declared as ‘invalid’ through voting and today lawmakers voted for new speaker candidates.

About one and a half months back, after the inauguration of the Wolesi Jirga, lawmakers Mir Rahman Rahmani, MirwaisYasini, Kamal NaserOsuli and Omar Nasir contested for the speaker post.

However, none could bag enough votes to become speaker of the house and the ballot went to a second round, which was deferred to May 19.

On Tuesday, Abdul Shakour Waqif Hakimi, a lawmaker from Badakhshan province, Javid Jaihon and Mir Afghan Safi from Kabul province nominated themselves for the Wolesi Jirga speaker position. However, none received the required number of votes.


Related Article

Add new comment



Etisalat Get more data, Etisalat Afghanistan

Twitter Update