Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Pakistan defeat Afghanistan in dramatic face-off

Pakistan defeat Afghanistan in dramatic face-off

Jun 29, 2019 - 21:56

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Pakistaninfo-icon won a dramatic game against Afghanistaninfo-icon at Headingley on Saturday by three wickets to keep their Worldinfo-icon Cup dream alive.

Afghanistan, after winning the toss, posted 227 runs for the loss of nine wickets, with top scorers Asghar Afghan and Najibullah Zadran contributing 42 off 35 and 51 balls respectively. Rahmat Shah scored 35 off 43 balls.

For Pakistan, Shaheen Shah Afridi bagged four wickets in his 10-over spell.  Wahab Riaz and Imad Wasim also contributed to dismantling Afghanistan's batting order and took two wickets each.

Shadab Khan took the crucial wicket of Afghan (42), who built a healthy 64-run partnership with Alikhil after Afghanistan had lost 3 wickets in the early stages of the game.

Afghan had helped Afghanistan recover after three early wickets with a fiery knock of 42 off 35 balls by hitting two sixes and three fours. His partner Alikhil was slower, scoring 24 runs off 66 balls, hitting one boundary in the process.

After Pakistani bowlers dismantled the partnership between Alikhil and Afghan, Zadran and Nabi struggled to maintain a healthy run rate that had dipped slightly. ESPN Cricinfo's predicted Afghanistan scoring up to at least 230 in 50 overs.

The quick wickets led to some heated clashes between the supporters of Pakistan and Afghanistan and some were reportedly expelled from the stadium. A video clip, that was being shared across social media, showed a few men that appeared to be Afghanistan supporters beating a man wearing a Pakistan cricket team shirt outside the stadium. They were separated by spectators.

Pakistan's chances to win had dimmed considerably after they lost 7 wickets while the required run rate soared higher. At one point, the win predictor indicated a mere 29 per cent chance of Pakistan winning the game.

Allrounder Shadab Khan (11) was run out by Gulbadin Nabi and Ikram Alikhil when he was running back for a second run.nImad Wasim was then joined by Wahab Riaz as Pakistan chased a modest 228-run target.

Chances had dimmed after skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed walked back to the pavilion after he was run out by Najibullah Zadran and Ikram Alikhil in the 39th over.

Shadab Khan joined Imad Wasim on the crease as Pakistan chased a modest target of 228 runs. Pakistan were 164 for 6 by the 41st over and needed 64 runs off 50 balls.

At this point, Afghanistan's chances of victory, as per the win predictor, had risen to 79 per cent. Pakistan faced a setback after Haris Sohail (27) was given lbw on Rashid Khan's ball in the 35th over.

The wicket came just as Sohail and skipper Sarfraz Ahmed were looking to form a strong partnership after Mohammad Hafeez's (19) dismissal in the 30th over. Sohail was replaced by Wasim.

Sohail and Hafeez had formed a 40-run partnership before the latter played a tame shot leading the ball right into Hashmatullah Shahidi's hands on a delivery by Mujeebur Rahman.

Babar Azam, who scored his maiden World Cup century in Pakistan's match against New Zealand earlier this week, was bowled out by Mohammad Nabi. He scored 45 off 51 balls.

Babar followed Imamul Haq, who scored 36 off 46, back to the pavilion. Imaminfo-icon had been stumped on the last ball of the 16th over attempting to hit Nabi.

Pakistan had lost opener Fakhar Zaman (0) and their review on the second ball of the innings. Zaman, who was given lbw on Rahman's delivery, thought the ball had hit the bat first and decided to go for a review.


Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi

Afghanistan: Gulbadin Naib (capt), Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Alikhil (wk), Rashid Khan, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman


Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update