Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Group formed at UN to protect Afghan women’s rights

Group formed at UN to protect Afghan women’s rights

Nov 19, 2019 - 16:07

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Afghan Mission to the United Nations has formed a ‘Group of Friends’ co-chaired by the United Kingdom and comprised of womeninfo-icon representatives to the UN and senior officials, the mission said on Tuesday.

The group will highlight the importance of protecting and enhancing women’s rights and their role across societyinfo-icon and government, including in peace efforts. 

The Group of Friends aims to safeguard the important shared gains made towards women’s rights since 2001 and to ensure that any prospective outcomes in the peace process recognise, protect and promote the role of women in all spheres of life.

The initiative will also support the joint commitment of the Afghan Government and the international community towards the full implementation of UNSCR 1325 on “Women Peace and Security.”

Permanent Representative of Afghanistaninfo-icon, Adela Raz, said: “During the last 18 years, Afghan women have risen as leaders of change and have started to shift the narrative from victims to partners.”

She said Afghan women were part  of the new Afghanistan where they were not prohibited from getting an educationinfo-icon and not forced to stay at home. “It is an important time in our political history where our gains matter more than ever, and our investment in Afghan women must continue to be strengthened.”

The Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom, Karen Pierce, said: I look forward to co-chairing the Group of Friends of Women in Afghanistan and supporting the role of women in all aspects of life in Afghanistan.”

Representatives from Australia, Canada, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Saint Vincent, Turkmenistan, UAE, and the African Union have already joined this Group of Friends.



Related Article

Add new comment



Twitter Update