Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Audio Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

WJ, Senate elect members as peace negotiators

WJ, Senate elect members as peace negotiators

Mar 11, 2020 - 16:07

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): Both houses of the parliament on Wednesday elected seven lawmakers to represent them in the government’s peace negotiating team.

On February29, the United States and the Taliban signed a keenly-awaited peace pact on ending the war in Afghanistan in Doha.

Based on this agreement, the intra-Afghan dialogue should have started on March, but it did not happen. However, government officials are optimistic the talks would start soon.

President Ashraf Ghani, who inaugurated the parliament on Saturday after its 45-day winter recess, asked the Meshrano Jirgainfo-icon to introduce its two senators -- one woman and one man – to be part of the negotiation team and urged the Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon to elect five lawmakers, including two womeninfo-icon and three men.

Amina Afzali, a senator, told media persons that she and Mohammad Akbari were elected as the negotiation team members from the Senate.

While at the Wolesi Jirga today’s session, 22 MPs nominated themselves to be elected as members of the negotiation team, but the election was disrupted and Speaker Mir Rahman Rahmani dismissed the voting.

Later Rahmani tasked a five-member delegation with electing five lawmakers as members of the negotiating team.

The delegation includes Rohullah Akhundzadah, a lawmaker from Kandahar, Ghulam HussianNasiri, a lawmaker from Kabul, Hamidullah Bek from Takhar, Mohammad AlamAzadi from Balkh and Mohammad SadiqQadari from Herat provinces.

But lawmakers insisted the five member  panel should be elected by the house and then 22 men and 10 women nominated themselves for the peace negotiation team.

Abdul Raouf Ibrahimi, Qazi Nazir Ahmad Hunfi, Ghulam Farooq Nazari from Herat province and Faridah Hamidi from Nimroz and Fatima Aziz from Kunduz were elected by as members of the peace negotiation team.


Related Article

Add new comment



Etisalat Get more data, Etisalat Afghanistan

Twitter Update